May 24, 2022

Michael F. Curtin ’65

During the Law School's 133rd Commencement, students from the Class of 2022 were awarded the highest honors for academic achievement, pro bono participation, and contributions to the Law School community.

The John L. Garvey Faculty Award recognizes outstanding academic achievement during the law school course study. Awards are conferred during the Commencement ceremony upon the highest-ranking graduate from each division, day and evening. The faculty named the award to honor Professor Emeritus, John L. Garvey. It recognizes his 49 years of dedicated service to the Columbus School of Law as teacher, dean, scholar, and colleague.

Frankie Orrico Jesse Raines Victoria Murphy
Mary Graw Leary
, Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, presented the John L. Garvey Faculty Award to award recipients: Frankie Orrico and Jesse Raines (Day Division), who completed their degrees with the exact same cumulative grade point average, and Victoria Murphy (Evening Division).

The Michael F. Curtin Pro Bono Award recognizes a law student from each division, day and evening, who has honored the highest ideals of the Columbus School of Law by voluntary pro bono service to others. The award is named in tribute to alumnus Michael F. Curtin ’65, in recognition of his more than 40 years of leadership and selfless dedication to the Law School and the legal profession. The range of his pro bono work and the significant portion of his professional life that he has devoted to the causes of justice, compassion, and opportunity for all have set a new standard for what it means to serve others.

Sarah Manning Emily Thomas
Michael F. Curtin '65
presented the Michael F. Curtin Pro Bono Award to award recipients: Sarah Manning (Day Division) and Emily Thomas (Evening Division). 

The Law School Alumni Association Award recognizes a graduating student from the Full-Time and Part-Time divisions. The recipients have not only excelled in academic work but have actively participated in extracurricular and co-curricular activities and have contributed to the law school community in special ways.

Owen Eichen Salyers Lauren Van Thiel Irish
Arielle Giordano ’15
, Alumni Council President, presented the Law School Alumni Association Award to award recipients: Owen Eichen Salyers (Day Division) and Lauren Van Thiel Irish (Evening Division).