Distinguished Guests

Each year, the Summer Law Program in Krakow has been privileged to present a number of distinguished speakers to address and interact with students and faculty. They have offered their expertise through special presentations, bringing a real-life perspective to daily class lectures. In previous years, the program has hosted such distinguished guests as:

  • Sandra Day O'Connor, former Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court
  • Edward Derwinski, former U.S. Secretary of Veterans Affairs
  • Dr. Stanley Glod, former Vice President, Central Europe, Boeing Aerospace Poland
  • Dr. Kazimierz Jaskowski, Justice of the Supreme Court of Poland
  • Radoslaw Sikorski, Minister of Defense (2005-2007), Minister of Foreign Affairs (2007-2014), and Speaker of the Sejm (2014-2015).
  • Wojciech Katner, Justice of the Supreme Court of Poland and former Vice Minister of the Economy of the Republic of Poland
  • Professor Marian Grzybowski, former Justice of the Constitutional Tribunal in Warsaw
  • Dr. Jerzy Pruski, former President of Management Board and Chief Executive of Powszechna Kasa Oszczednosci Bank Polski SA and former Deputy President of the National Bank of Poland
  • Mr. Roman Rewald, chairman of the American Chamber of Commerce in Poland, and partner at the Warsaw office of Weil, Gotshal and Manges
  • Wlodzimierz Cimoszewicz, Senator and former Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland
  • Jerzy Szymanski, former Deputy Attorney General, Republic of Poland
  • Paul Fogo, former senior counsel, Miller & Canfield, Warsaw
  • Tomasz Chmal, former partner, White & Case, Warsaw
  • Rina Welles, attorney, Los Angeles, CA
  • Elizabeth Zechenter, President at Jagiellonian Law Society

Sponsors of the American Participants

Special gratitude should be extended to The National Bank of Poland and The Kosciuszko Foundation for their continued sponsorship of the program.

In addition, a large measure of the program's success can be attributed to the continuous endorsement of the Embassy of the Republic of Poland in Washington, D.C.